聯會旅程對2025異象的回應:宣教學上的一席對話

編者話:我們所以公開分享這份文件,是源於對建立和理解社群的關注。這份綜合出來的筆記並不代表威克理夫國際聯會的共識,或特定立場。它是百多個聯會機構共二百多名領袖和董事會主席的討論記錄。因此,它反映了聯會機構領袖的多元文化、意見和思想。我們在新場境,以新表達方式持續學習和發展關係。我們結伴同行,渴望充分參與神的使命。這是聯會旅程的一部分。

威克理夫全球大會

2016年5月6至7日

泰國清邁

在威克理夫全球大會期間的這兩天,與會者一起探討「聯會旅程對2025異象的回應」。我們都認同在參與聖經翻譯的過程中,2025異象起了提醒的作用,我們必須反省和回應在我們周遭發生和面前所見的事情。我們想到佩恩(Payne)的警告,他說:「正正因著我們在工場做著的一些事情,即使我們得了些成果,也不表示我們要停止檢視我們所作的。」[1]

我們探討2025異象,目的是:

  • 重新檢視和反思聯會的旅程對2025異象的回應;
  • 探索聯會機構目前所面對那些與2025異象有關的問題;
  • 每個聯會機構按著本身對聖經翻譯獨特的貢獻,承諾會面對那些或阻礙或促進聖經翻譯的成效的事宜。

這次討論集中以下範疇:

1. 概述聯會旅程對2025異象的回應

2. 2025異象表達出來的宣教學主張

2.1迫切性

2.2邁向以神國度為本的伙伴關係:

2.2.1以朋友關係建立伙伴關係

2.2.2在全球實際處境下建立伙伴關係

2.3倚靠神

分組討論和小休期間的交流,讓大家體驗到是次對話的首要價值。我們感謝在過程中協助討論的主持人(顧問和小組促進員),也感謝記錄人員,讓我們可以一瞥二十八個小組的討論內容。這些記錄已集成共一百頁的英文筆記,有意者可發電郵至Missiology@wycliffe.net,向高爾澤(Stephen Coertze)索取 。

這系列的筆記也整理成為這份長達十頁的撮要。本撮要並不代表整個討論所確切表達的內容,卻嘗試反映這些組成聯會的豐富想法的深度和多元性。歡迎使用這份撮要中的點子,繼續討論。

聯會旅程對2025異象的回應

這趟旅程到目前為止⋯⋯

反思是至為重要的。它改變我們的觀點。當門關上時,我們是否願意通過另一扇新的大門,朝我們從來沒有去過的方向走?在一個機構裏,反思必須在不同的階層推進,從董事會、辦公室,到工場人員。反思事情怎樣改變,思想該怎樣做,怎樣回應這些現況,都是非常重要的。反思表明我們倚靠神,信任神,並願意花時間作具創意的思考。

教會聯繫是當今宣教使命的共同主題。宣教學改變了教會的想法。傳統的宣教和方法將要改變。我們必須與本地的、國家的、國外的教會聯繫。教會正在改變,威克理夫也必須與時並進。在聖經翻譯機構裏,「教會的使命」有時變得好像是選擇性的,這樣很不妥當。威克理夫必須與地區教會更深的互相依靠,包括在解決問題、分享資源,和持續發展上。那我們該如何使更多教會投入宣教?

人道主義的宣教與聖經翻譯攜手前進。

地區參與/擁有權是必要的。我們必須尊重本地人的需要,請他們教導或協助,而不是一味的做。我們須在現行架構內發展策略。經費籌募的機構當認識到地方和國家的決策。

今天,我們在宣教裏有更多互相倚靠的關係。我們要在「我們接受」或「我們施予」之間尋找中位點,變成「我們既接受也施予」。在財政倚靠的範疇裏,我們得非常小心;作領袖的在處理金錢時,更要抱持非常敬虔的態度。

現在重溫2025異象是合時的。聯會機構各有不同的歷史,不是所有在威克理夫裏的人都完全明白這異象的原意 —— 這異象關乎社群轉化和本地自主,而非單單是點算翻譯項目的數目。這異象賦予人包容而非排斥的力量;無論是動員教會,推廣宣言,增強迫切感,還是在西方和南半球的教會之間建立伙伴關係,它都是個有用的呼召。

我們需要伙伴關係、沒有疆界的事工,小機構也可以在地區帶來巨大的影響。我們須要善用自己的強處來參與聖經翻譯工作。「我們同心便可以」。尋找自身的身份是關鍵的,認清楚自己的強處和弱點,好使我們知道如何彼此服侍。有些機構可以成為國內以至國外其他機構的榜樣。我們需要更多故事,不同的故事。每個故事都是重要的,都是神故事的一部分。我們可以從每個人的故事中吸取教訓,不管那故事是成功的,還是失敗的。

2025異象表達出來的宣教學主張:迫切性

「迫切」這主題,就神的使命、我們在其中的參與,以及世界各地民族的需要,揭示了一種寛廣的觀點和深邃的關注。

在2025異象的背景下理解「迫切」這個詞語的含義,包含了那些視之為生死悠關的想法。許多語言群體仍未得到聖經,那些人還沒有認識救世主便與世長辭;而教會沒有神的話語作為基礎,也無法茁強成長。末日將到,黑夜已近。世界不斷改變。神吩咐我們去,乃是祂的旨意。因此,「迫切」所講的,是建立更多的伙伴關係,聚集本地與全球的資源,早日完成翻譯。

對另一些人而言,「迫切」是關於制訂策略,過於加快工作步伐的;他們認為「重點」和「優先次序」,是比「迫切性」更為合適的用詞。別草率行事,要耐心尋求神的指引。迫切感比較關注怎樣完成工作,過於何時完成。迫切感也不應該取代社區參與、發展伙伴關係,和教會的參與,反之,我們應該開拓機會讓人更多參與,更少壓力。

許多威克理夫機構已受了迫切感的影響,有些定出了特定的語言社群或教會的數字,作為與這些群體聯繫的目標,也有些更著意董事會的培訓,和教會伙伴的發展。一些機構尋找機會與其他地區的威克理夫機構建立更緊密的關係。又有許多機構花更多時間反思神的使命和聖經翻譯在其中的角色。

當提出關係和責任的議題時,往往引起張力。關係需要時間建立,但利益相關者卻期望快速而可衡量的結果。處境不同,語言群體不同,迫切感的定義也會有所分別。因此,我們的回應必須因地而定。宣教是屬於神的。祂是那位按著自己的時間表完成宣教使命的神。祂邀請我們參與其宣教使命,但成功與否並不取決於我們。我們的迫切感有多大,在於我們對神的心意、祂的旨意、祂的使命等有多好的理解。因此,迫切感必須加上用心而恆切的禱告。

作為一個聯會,我們的共識是要禱告,這是首先,也是首要的;然後我們要制訂策略,解決所有合作伙伴的需要和期望。為了完成祂的使命,我們必須倚靠神供應所需。我們要建立強壯而健康的關係;更好地溝通 —— 在我們自己、支持者、合作伙伴和本地社群之間,更多又更有效的溝通。我們要捨棄控制權,從而發展伙伴關係,讓我們可以自由地更多冒風險,作出種種貢獻,集中資源,以新方式彼此支持。我們的思想要長遠、整全,要從過去中學習,分享經驗,互相學習。

2025異象表達出來的宣教學主張:
邁向以神國度為本的伙伴關係 以朋友關係建立伙伴關係

有人說友誼是從伙伴關係培養出來的,也有人說伙伴關係是建基在友誼上的,還有人認為兩者並不需要對等。有人說友誼和伙伴關係就像對家庭的委身,也有人說兩者都不是永久如家庭的,反而是個選擇,講求承諾。很多人視「友誼」和「伙伴關係」為兩個可以互換的詞語,可是話說回來,它們在幾個層面上都不盡相同。

大家一致認同,文化模塑友誼,而且我們自身的文化對良好的友誼有很不相同的定義,甚至可能造成嚴重分歧。不過,所有人都同意經得起衝突的友誼更堅強,更真實。

比起伙伴關係,友誼是更個人的。友誼可以維持,伙伴關係卻會終止。友誼須要花時間相處,彼此接近;如果分隔千里、有文化差異和時差,友誼便不容易維繫。在聯會裏,由於要花時間在旅途和款待上(如食物、咖啡、滿足彼此需求等等),故此無論從時間或金錢上講,友誼都是價格高昂的。

友誼建基在合乎聖經的愛這個元素上。一個追求友誼的人是友誼的主體而非客體 —— 是施予而非接受,是同慶賀而非競爭,是虛心認識彼此平等。好朋友互相信任,彼此忠誠。真誠的友誼要付上時間才能好好發展。

另一方面,伙伴關係可以隨著業務協議而迅速建立起來;伙伴關係也講求承諾、誠實、守信,但可以輕鬆地應對因距離和時差而帶來的不便。伙伴關係是建立在共同的異象和明確的承諾與目標上的。然而,除了單純講求成效外,我們一起服侍也是因著這是神的旨意,知道我們在事工裏同心合作,便能榮耀神。伙伴關係是精神上的努力,反映神呼召我們活在社群中。

機構之間的伙伴關係是可以很實際的。然而,機構之間的友誼卻因著領袖的轉變而變得困難。另一方面,領袖是自己機構的榜樣,示範何謂真正的友誼。領袖必須帶頭在聯會裏建立友誼。

友誼有許多不同的層面。一個人是無法處理太多深厚的友誼的。友誼很昂貴,所以也很珍貴。有些人認為把時間、精力和資源集中在幾段良好友誼的素質和持久性上,更為實際。

因著友誼,生活和工作更美麗。神並不以做我們朋友為恥呢。

2025異象表達出來的宣教學主張:
邁向以神國度為本的伙伴關係
-在全球實際處境下建立伙伴關係

認識全球化和全球本土化,有助我們好好了解聯會的運作。我們在基督的身子裏聯合,有共同的信仰,共享資源和人手,這些都讓聯會社群可以發展具創意的伙伴關係和策略。在這樣的伙伴關係裏,無論在本地或全球的層面上,都沒有人比另一個人價值較低。當有人有需要,資源便會慷慨地從有資源的任何地方提取出來幫忙。因此,我們可以自然地更開放自己,分擔困難,赤誠相對。聯會的力量來自機構間的關係,這裏沒有控制中心,卻有帶影響力的多個中心,民主化的權力。

全球化讓我們迅速接收他人的資訊和鼓勵。在一處取得成功的事情,隨即在其他地方出現。全球化強調我們個別處境的獨特性,促使我們思想如何共享、合作、互相學習,卻不失自己的身份和獨特性。全球化營造了一種團結和友好的普遍意識,並讓我們帶回本地的處境去。 多元重心主義(Polycentricism)使我們與本地教會的關係更好。許多本地教會需要世界性的伙伴關係,也有許多本地的力量期望在世界的層面上發揮。

然而,全球化/全球本土化和多元重心主義也引起一些關注。這些現象稀釋個人主義 —— 民族、文化和機構的單一化。多元重心主義挑戰教會的管治系統;教會越發渴望更直接參與宣教的想法,則引起合作伙伴憂慮事工失去控制。此外,基於歷史而出現的自然恐懼,也可能在人進入共享權力的系統前,產生猶豫(想想殖民主義的歷史,或者SIL歷史上在很多處境下的定位)。有些機構在自己的處境下,寧可選擇階級結構,要他們融合流動的全球結構,並不容易。再者,一個機構面臨的困難會影響其他人。舉個例,在一個群體內發生的金融危機可能影響對別人的資源; 而好像「神的兒子」那種具爭議性的議題,也會對許多人帶來張力。全球伙伴關係令各機構的透明度愈來愈高,而在社交媒體的影響下,政府機關也愈來愈注意到其國家內的活動。這些暴光無疑增加了危險性,對在敏感地區的人員和項目產生不良影響。

我們必須確保伙伴關係無論在時間、權柄、擁有權、能力上,施與受雙方都平衡、平等。我們需要良好的平台,讓機構在其上互相分享最佳做法;又需要幫助溝通的系統,和適合個別處境的技術和策略,來應對七道參與溪流。我們要承認所犯的錯誤,尋求寬恕,修補關係。復和必須真心誠意。我們必須謙虛,更多聆聽神和彼此的話;少說話,多一起學習;願意捨棄權利,擁抱混亂,明白我們需要在世界和世界至本地(全球本土化)的層面上更好的溝通和協調。為了建立關係,更好地應對需求,我們要銳意藉會面建立互信,並在所有層面上互相倚靠的關係。

2025異象表達出來的宣教學主張:倚靠神

倚靠就是向神捨棄自己

我們的生命不屬於自己,因此我們倚靠神。我們是倚靠祂的受造物。神愛我們,因此我們在自己的身份中感覺安全,並選擇完全靠祂而活。神變得比甚麼都重要。我們先求祂的國,相信祂必供應一切。我們問:「在神眼中甚麼是最迫切的?祂優先考慮哪些事情?」

倚靠是平衡

在計劃裏,倚靠會打亂等候神和順服而行之間的平衡。我們制定計劃,然後輕輕抓住它,如果神要我們行,便放手。我們銳意而積極地信任神,既不是追求自己的目標,也不是尋求快速容易的解決方法,或懶惰,或消極,卻是懇切禱告,心存盼望地等候,順服而行。

倚靠是自由

聖經翻譯項目屬於神。生命轉化是神自己的工作,不是我們的。既然一切都屬於神,那麼祂也負責完成這工。倚靠神使我們從資源和時間限制的憂慮中釋放。我們承認自己的局限和不足,不靠自己。雖然我們也要負責任,作神的好管家,但倚靠神使我們從爭取成功的緊張和壓力中釋放。既知道神必信實供應,我們便信靠祂必再次供應祂的工所需用的一切。

倚靠和焦慮不能共存。迫切感不應該破壞我們對神的倚靠,相反,它使我們依靠神。我們要相信祂的時間表。

倚靠是禱告

禱告行動,是倚靠神的一種表現。我們不只在資金或資源上倚靠神,也向祂尋求智慧。要防止倚靠自己或獨行獨斷 —— 兩者皆是罪,是一種自律的操練。倚靠是謙卑的 —— 與神親密的最終考驗。

倚靠是雙向的

倚靠神使我們自由地在雙向的關係中建立關係和伙伴。伙伴關係迫使我們更加信任神。伙伴關係並非基於物質,卻基於神。沒有人會比另一個人更大或更小。當我們需要時,我們可以呼籲國際社會幫忙。我們願意犧牲,不求回報,也不會拿別人的好處。我們藉著傳遞對神的信靠(樹立榜樣)來互相幫助。我們都是脆弱的,同樣要倚靠神。在伙伴關係中,我們向彼此樹立倚靠神的榜樣,從而互相幫助。有時,這個教導,那個受教,有時相反。我們要銳意在互動中建立對神的信靠。

 

[1] Ott, C and Payne, J D (eds) 2013.  Missionary methods: Research, Reflections and Realities. Pasadena CA: William Carey Library. p. xv.

 

在社群中的發現

美國商人兼作家柯維(Stephen R. Cove)說過:「如果梯...

進深閱讀

08/2022 菲律賓

從蒙福小群到賜福管子

在菲律賓山區省,巴靈人(Barlig)在翻譯工作進行近...

進深閱讀

08/2022 菲律賓

翻譯聖經之旅

翻譯聖經之旅選自威克理夫國際聯會的Vimeo. 聖經是...

進深閱讀

The Alliance Journey in Response to Vision 2025: A Missiological Conversation

Editor’s note:We are sharing this document publically in the interest of building understanding and community. This synthesized set of notes does not reflect a consensus opinion or a specific position of the Wycliffe Global Alliance. It is a record of discussion that took place among more than 200 leaders and board chairs from more than 100 Alliance organizations. As such it represents the diversity of cultures, opinions and ideas of the Alliance organization leaders. The learnings and relationships are ongoing and continue in new venues and with new expressions. This is a part of the Alliance journey as we travel together, desiring to fully participate in God’s mission.

Wycliffe Global Gathering
6-7 May 2016

Chiang Mai, Thailand

Over the course of two days during the Wycliffe Global Gathering, participants discussed ‘our Alliance journey in response to Vision 2025’. We acknowledged that Vision 2025 serves as a reminder that, when participating in Bible translation, we need to both reflect on and respond to what we see around and before us. We considered the caution of Payne that “just because we are doing something on the field, even if we are experiencing results, does not warrant a refrain from the evaluation of our actions”.[1]

The purposes of our discussion of Vision 2025 were:

  • to revisit and reflect on the journey of the Alliance in response to Vision 2025
  • to explore some of the current questions Alliance Organisations face in relation to Vision 2025
  • for each Alliance organization, in the context of their own unique contribution to Bible translation, to commit to engage with the issues that could either hinder or enhance effective Bible translation.

The conversations focused on the following areas:

  1. An overview of the Alliance journey in response to Vision 2025
  2. Missiological affirmations expressed in Vision 2025

2.1 Urgency

2.2 Toward Kingdom-based partnerships:

2.2.1 Partnering as friends

2.2.2 Partnering in the context of global realities

2.3 Dependency on God

The primary value of the conversation was experienced through discussions in table groups as well as discussions during breaks. We are indebted to our facilitators (consultation and table group facilitators) who assisted the discussion process. We are also grateful to our note-takers for providing us with a glimpse of the discussions we had around the 28 respective table groups. Those notes are compiled in a 100-page English language document that can be requested from Stephen Coertze at [email protected].

The collection of notes has been synthesized into this 10-page summary. This summary is not meant to be an exact representation of what was said during the discussion groups. It is an attempt to portray the depth and diversity of ideas that make up the richness of the Alliance. Feel free to use the ideas contained in the summary to continue the conversation.

The Alliance journey in response to Vision 2025

The Journey so far…

Reflection is critical. It offers a change of perspective. Are we willing to recognize when a door is closing and are we willing to go through a new door in a direction we haven’t gone before? Reflection must happen at all levels in the organization from the Board to the office and field staff. It’s important to reflect on how things have changed and to consider what to do and how to respond to the new realities. Reflection demonstrates dependence and trust in God, and allows for time to think creatively.

Church Engagement is a common theme in mission today. Missiology is changing the Church’s thinking. Traditional mission and methods will change. We need to engage with the local church, the national church and the outside church. Churches are changing and Wycliffe must change with the times. It seems sometimes in Bible translation organizations the “church’s mission” is optional. It should not be that way. Wycliffe must be more interdependent with the local church: Problem solving, resourcing, sustainability. How do we involve the majority of churches?

Humanitarian mission goes hand-in-hand with Bible translation.

Local involvement / ownership is essential. Senders must respect local needs; they should become trainers and helpers rather than doers. We need a strategy that uses existing structures. Funding organizations should recognize local and national decisions.

There is more interdependence in mission today. We need to find the middle ground where “we receive” or “we give” becomes “we receive and we give”. We must be very careful in the area of financial dependence. Leaders need to have a very prayerful attitude when dealing with money.

Revisiting V2025 now is timely. Because Alliance organizations have diverse histories, not everyone in Wycliffe fully understands the intent of the Vision, that it is about community transformation and about local ownership, not just about counting translation projects. The vision offers the ability to include rather than exclude. It is useful as a call for moving the church, a statement, to give a sense of urgency in building partnerships among the churches of the West and the global South.

We need partnerships; ministry without borders. Small organizations can have a big impact on a region. We need to use the strengths we have to participate in the work of Bible translation. “Together we can”. It’s critical that we find our identity; know our strengths and weaknesses so we know how we can serve one another. Some organizations can serve as a model for other organizations in their own countries and beyond. We need more stories, different stories. Every story is important, is part of God’s story. We can learn from everyone’s story—stories of failures as well as of successes.

Missiological affirmations expressed in Vision 2025: Urgency

The topic of urgency revealed a wide spectrum of views and a deep sense of concern for God’s mission, our participation in it, and the needs of the people of the world.

The meaning of the word urgency as understood within the context of Vision 2025 included those who view it as addressing a life and death situation. Many language communities are still without access to Scripture. People are dying without knowing the Savior of the world. Churches cannot become strong and effective without the foundation of God’s Word.  The end is near; the night is coming. The world is changing. God has commanded us to go; it is his will. Therefore, urgency is about completing translations as quickly as possible by partnering more, using available resources both locally and globally and building more partnerships to engage with the work.

For others urgency is about strategizing rather than speeding up the work. Focus and priority are considered more appropriate guiding words than urgency. Don’t act in haste. Have patience to seek God’s direction. Urgency is more about how the work is done than when the work is finished. Urgency should not supplant community involvement, partnership development and church engagement but rather open up opportunities for more involvement with less pressure.

Many organizations have been impacted by a sense of urgency. Some have identified specific goals in terms of number of language communities to engage or number of churches to connect with language communities. Some have been more intentional about board training and church partnership development. Some Wycliffe organizations have sought to foster closer relationships with Wycliffe organizations in other parts of the world. Many are seeking to spend more time reflecting on God’s mission and the role of Bible translation in it.

Tensions exist when issues of relationship and accountability are raised. Relationships take time, yet stakeholders expect quick, measurable results. Urgency will be defined differently in different contexts and languages. Our responses, then, should be context-specific.  Mission belongs to God. He is the one who is going to complete it in his own time. He has invited us to participate with him but the success of his mission is not dependent on us. Our scale of urgency is measured by how well we understand God’s mind, his will, his mission, etc. Therefore, urgency requires dedicated prayer.

As an Alliance the consensus was that we need to pray, first and foremost and then craft a strategy that addresses the needs and expectations of all partners involved. We need to depend on God to provide all that is needed to complete his mission. We need to build strong and healthy relationships; to communicate better—more often and more effectively—between ourselves and with constituents, partners and local communities.  We need to let go of control, thereby developing partnerships that offer the freedom to take more risks, to contribute whatever can be contributed, to pool resources and support one another in new ways. We need to think long term; think holistically; learn from our past, share our experiences with one another, and learn from one another.

Missiological affirmations expressed in Vision 2025: Toward Kingdom-based partnerships – Partnering as friends

Some say friendships grow out of partnerships, others say partnerships are built on friendships. Still others think the two do not need to be aligned at all. Some say friendship and partnership are commitments like a family. Others say they are not permanent like a family, rather they are a choice, requiring commitment. Many people use the words “friendship” and “partnership” interchangeably, but then again, upon reflection consider them to be different on several levels.

All agreed that friendship is culturally shaped, and that our cultural definitions of / parameters surrounding good friendships are so different, they can cause deep conflict. But all also agreed that friendships that endure conflict together come out stronger and truer.

Friendships are more personal, individualized than partnerships. Friendships last; partnerships terminate. Friendship takes time and proximity; friendships cannot happen easily where there are great distances, cultural differences and/or gaps of time to be overcome. Friendships in the Alliance are costly both with time and money — for travel to visit, for helping one another with gifts of kindness (food, coffee, meeting one another’s needs, etc.)

Friendships are built on the elements of biblical love. A person pursues a friend as the subject of the friendship rather than the object – to give rather than to receive; to celebrate with rather than compete with; to humbly know and to be known as equals. Good friends trust one another and are loyal to one another. Sincere friendships take time to develop well.

Partnerships, on the other hand, can be established more quickly as business agreements. Partnerships also require commitment, honesty and trust, but can navigate the inconveniences of distance and time more easily. Partnerships are built on a common vision and clear commitments and goals. However, beyond simply being productive, we work together because it is God’s will, because we know our partnership in the ministry honors God. Partnership is a spiritual endeavor. It reflects God’s call to live in community.

Partnerships between organizations can be practical. However, friendships between organizations is difficult when leadership changes. On the other hand, leaders model for the organizations what true friendship looks like. Leaders need to lead the way in building friendships within the Alliance.

There are many levels of friendships. One cannot manage many deep friendships; they are costly and therefore precious. Some believe it is more practical to focus time, energy and resources on only a few good friendships for quality and sustainability.

Life and work are more beautiful in friendship. God is not ashamed to call us his friends.

Missiological affirmations expressed in Vision 2025: Toward Kingdom-based partnerships – Partnering in the context of global realities

Understanding Globalization and Glocalization offers a better understanding of how the Alliance works. United in the Body of Christ, our shared beliefs, shared resources and shared manpower allow the Alliance community to form creative partnerships and strategies. In such partnerships, no one is less valuable than another, either locally or globally. When one is in need, resources are generously drawn from wherever the resource exists. Therefore, we are free to be more open, to talk about difficult things, to be vulnerable with one another. The strength of the Alliance comes from the relationships within its organizations; there is no control center but multiple centers of influence, a democratization of power.

Globalization allows for fast access to information and encouragement from others. Something that was successful in one place can quickly be made available to other places.  Globalization underscores the uniqueness of our particular contexts—makes us think of ways in which we can share and cooperate and learn from each other without losing our identity and distinctiveness. It creates a general sense of unity and friendships that we bring back to the local context. Polycentricism allows for better relationships between ourselves and with local churches. There are many local needs that require global partnerships and many local strengths that require a global system for expression.

Globalization/Glocalization and polycentrism raise concerns, however. They could contribute to a dilution of individualism – a onenessization of people, cultures, and organizations.  Polycentricism challenges church government systems and churches’ rising desire for more direct involvement in mission. This can cause concern for partners who fear losing control. Also, natural fears based on history can cause some to hesitate before entering into a shared power system (consider the history of colonialism, or the historical position of SIL in many contexts). Some organizations prefer a hierarchical structure in their own context and therefore struggle to blend that with a fluid global structure. Furthermore, the difficulties one organization faces will impact others. For example, a financial crisis in one group will impact resources for others; or tensions from issues like the Divine Familial Terms controversy can impact many. The increased visibility of organizations in global partnerships and the proliferation of social media results in governments becoming more aware of activities happening in their nations.  This creates an increased risk of exposure that can adversely affect people and projects in sensitive areas.

We need to insure that our partnerships are balanced in time, authority, ownership and competences both in giving and in receiving. We need a good platform for sharing best practices across organizations, systems to enable communication, technology appropriate to contexts and strategies that address the seven streams.  We need to acknowledge the wrongs that have been made, ask forgiveness and restore relationships. Reconciliation has to be authentic. We need to be humble, to listen more to God and to one another; to speak less and learn together; to be willing to give up rights, embrace chaos and recognize the need for better coordination and communication on both the global and the global-to-local (glocal) levels. To build relationships and be better equipped to respond to needs, we need to be intentional about meeting together to build trusting, interdependent relationships at all levels.

Missiological affirmations expressed in Vision 2025: Dependency on God

Dependency is abandoning ourselves to God

We are dependent on God because our lives are not our own; we are dependent creatures.  Secure in our identity as loved by God, we choose to live in total abandonment to Him. God becomes more important than anything else. We seek first his Kingdom, trusting that he will provide for everything else. We ask, “What is urgent in God’s eyes? What are his priorities?”

Dependency is balance

Dependency strikes a balance between waiting on God and acting in obedience on a plan. We make plans and then hold them lightly, always being willing to let them go if that’s what God prompts us to do. We trust God in a deliberate, active way, not pursuing our own agendas, not looking for quick and easy solutions, nor being lazy or inactive, but praying diligently, waiting expectantly and acting obediently.

Dependency is freedom

Bible translation projects belong to God; transformation is God’s work, not ours.  Because all the work belongs to God, He is responsible for completing it. Dependency on God releases us from the worry of limited resources and time. We recognize our limitations and insufficiencies. We don’t rely on ourselves. While we are accountable for and must be good stewards of what God has entrusted to us, dependency on God frees us from the pressure and stress of success. Knowing that God has faithfully provided in the past, we can have confidence that he will again provide what is needed for his work.

Dependency and anxiety cannot coexist. Urgency should not ruin our dependency on God. Rather there is an urgency for us to depend on God. We need to trust his timing.

Dependency is prayer

Prayer is action; it’s an expression of dependence on God. Dependency is not just about funds or physical resources; it is also about seeking wisdom from God. It’s about exercising self-discipline to limit our self-sufficiency or independence, both of which are sin.  Dependency is humility – the ultimate test of intimacy with God.

Dependency is mutuality

Dependency on God frees us to have relationships/partnerships built on mutuality. Partnerships force us to trust God more. Partnerships are not based on material things but on God. One is not greater or lesser than the other. When we have need, we can call on the global community. We need to be willing to sacrifice without expecting rewards; to not take advantage of others.  We help one another by transferring (modeling) our trust in God. We are all frail and equally need to depend on God. In partnerships we model dependence on God for one another and thereby help one another. Sometimes one teaches and the other learns; other times it is reversed. We need to intentionally build in time with God in our interactions with one another.

 

[1] Ott, C and Payne, J D (eds) 2013.  Missionary methods: Research, Reflections and Realities. Pasadena CA: William Carey Library. p. xv.

 

11/2020

Who better than God to receive our best?

Who better than God to receive our best? from Wycliffe Global Allianc...

Read more

11/2020 Australia, Indonesia

When a Need Meets a Passion

– The English Immersion Experience and Beyond “How could Wycli...

Read more

10/2020 Americas, Asia-Pacific, Africa, Europe

A Safe Place to Share the Journey

“This community is like a starter to encourage us all to go furt...

Read more