中華威克理夫:不要走得快,要走得遠

台灣在控制新冠病毒疫情上的成績令全球讚賞 —— 國家人口二千四百萬,受感染人數大約五百。當巿面一切重開,台灣人倒沒有輕率看待防疫措施,普遍仍小心謹慎,以防病毒散播。因此,中華威克理夫也簡單而低調地慶祝機構的二十五周年紀念。

中華威克理夫總幹事馮家熙(右)向參與實體和虛擬慶祝會的賓客致歡迎辭。(YouTube 截圖)

慶典在 2020年8月17日晚上於台北舉行,三十名賓客和職員齊集,一同讚美神的恩典,回顧前人的腳蹤,並展望未可預知的將來。因著旅遊限制,海外朋友未能親身到賀,但仍能透過YouTube live streaming,從美國、加拿大、法國、香港,以及台灣其他地區實時參與,甚至即時送上鼓勵和祝福的話。

當晚,中華威克理夫播放三段新製作的短片,並以此貫串起整個慶祝會的主要環節:

1. 佳美腳蹤 – 中華威克理夫的簡史

1995年8月中華威克理夫的成立典禮。 (攝影:中華威克理夫)

自1995年成立以來,中華威克理夫共差派出二十五名台灣的基督徒到海外去參與聖經翻譯運動。中華威克理夫感謝神豐足的供應與引導,以及台灣教會、伙伴機構和個別信徒的忠心支持。

2. 有耳可聽 – 錄製台灣語言的有聲聖經

邱顯正(右)領唱被視為威克理夫會歌的《無偽的信》(Faith, Mighty Faith)。邱顯正是中華威克理夫的前任總幹事。(YouTube 截圖)

「在2033年以前,為每個已有聖經譯本的台灣語言族群錄製他們的有聲聖經。」— 2033異象

這項新異象宣言表明了中華威克理夫渴望藉著錄製國內原住民語言的有聲聖經,來服侍這些族群的決心。自2019年起,他們與台灣聖經公會和聽信真道事工合作,已完成達悟語和阿美語的新約有聲聖經,而鄒語的錄製工作也展開了。

3. 放眼未來 – 中華威克理夫回應神的呼召,迎向這個迅息萬變的世界。

來,拍一張大合照! (攝影:中華威克理夫)

中華威克理夫相信神已賜福他們,好叫他們能繼續祝福許多人。正如慶典當晚一位講者所言:「中華威克理夫不會走得很快,但我們要一直走並且走得很遠。」

撰文:Ling Lam

A Pinyin-speaking woman looks through a newly dedicated New Testament.

流離失所的喀麥隆人從聖經譯本得著安慰

一名說皮因語(Pinyin)的婦女在奉獻禮上翻閱剛獻給...

Read more

肯妮雅的故事

「你得先跟我爸爸談」 年輕的巴西女子肯妮雅( Kenny...

Read more

羅姆村莊的蛻變

撰文:馬科爾(Jurek Marcol) 2017年, 聖經宣教協會 Bi...

Read more

Wycliffe Taiwan: Not Running Fast, but Far

The success of Taiwan in beating COVID-19 has impressed the world, with only about 500 confirmed cases in the country of 24 million people. While everything is reopened, most Taiwanese still take precautions carefully and seriously to prevent the virus from spreading. For this reason, Wycliffe Taiwan celebrated its 25th anniversary in a modest manner. 

Albert Fung (right), Director of Wycliffe Taiwan, gave a welcome message to those attending the celebration physically or virtually. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

The celebration was held on 17 August, 2020 in Taipei. About 30 guests and staff members of Wycliffe Taiwan gathered to praise God for his grace, to remember the footsteps of pioneers and to look forward to the unforeseeable future. Due to travel restrictions, overseas friends could not attend the event in person. Yet through YouTube live streaming, they celebrated together virtually from the U.S., Canada, France, Hong Kong and other parts of Taiwan. They could even post words of encouragement and blessing to Wycliffe Taiwan in real time. 

During the event, Wycliffe Taiwan launched three new videos, which threaded together the evening’s main sessions:  

1. Footsteps – A brief history of Wycliffe Taiwan. 

The launching ceremony of Wycliffe Taiwan in August 1995. (Photo: Wycliffe Taiwan)

Since 1995, Wycliffe Taiwan has sent 25 Taiwan Christians to various countries to serve in the Bible translation movement. Wycliffe Taiwan gave thanks to God for his abundant provision and guidance and for the faithful support from many Taiwan churches, partner organisations and individuals. 

2. He who has ears to hear – Recording audio Bibles for the languages in Taiwan.

Winston Chiu (right) led the group in singing Faith, Mighty Faith, which is regarded as a theme song of Wycliffe Bible Translators. Winston previously served as the organisation’s Director. (Photo: YouTube screenshot)

“By the year 2033, to see an audio Bible recorded in all the Taiwanese languages that already have their translated Scriptures.”  — Vision 2033

This new vision statement expresses Wycliffe Taiwan’s determination to serve its country’s  indigenous language groups by recording their audio Bible. Since 2019, they have been partnering with the Bible Society in Taiwan and Faith Comes by Hearing and have completed the audio New Testament for the Tao and Amis languages. The work for Cou language is now in progress.

3. Looking to the Future – How Wycliffe Taiwan responds to God’s calling in face of this rapidly changing world. 

Come, let’s take a group picture! (Photo: Wycliffe Taiwan)

Wycliffe Taiwan believes God has blessed the organisation so it can be a blessing to many. As a speaker shared during the celebration: “Wycliffe Taiwan may not run fast, but we will keep going and go far.” 

Article by Ling Lam

Hospitality, Events Teams Adjust to COVID Cancellations

With the pandemic shutting down most travel and in-person gatherings, ...

Read more

Alliance Members Contribute to Global Discussion

Brazil’s Bible translation agency, ALEM (Associação Linguistica Ev...

Read more
A Pinyin-speaking woman looks through a newly dedicated New Testament.

Displaced Cameroonians Find Solace in Translated Scripture

A Pinyin-speaking women looks through the newly dedicated New Testamen...

Read more